Our History

Highlands Park F.C. originally existed from November 1959 to February 1983. In 1971, Highlands Park FC merged with Powerlines FC from Nigel. After playing two seasons with the name Highlands Power FC in 1971-72, the club decided to change back its name to the more well-known Highlands Park FC in 1973. Ahead of the 1979 season, the club signed a five-year sponsor deal with Dion. The club name was changed to Dion Highlands FC in 1979. In February 1980, the official name was changed to Dion FC. The club was referred to as "Dion Highlands FC" from 1981 to February 1983.

The club played its last official professional match on 12 February 1983, where the club lost the final of the BP Top Eight Cup 0-2 to Orlando Pirates. Ahead of the 1983 season, the club's league franchise for NPSL was purchased by Jomo Sono. The new club name became Dion Cosmos, which ahead of the 1984 season was renamed to Jomo Cosmos.

In 1990, a newly formed professional team with the name Highlands Park FC was created and were promoted to play in the 1991 National Soccer League, where the club finished at a respectable 9th place. NSL team Port Elizabeth Blackpool purchased the franchise after their own relegation in the same season.

The team ceased to exist in 1991, as the club's sponsor did not want to prolong their relationship. The new owners created a new club Welkom Eagles, to replace "Highlands Park FC" in the National Soccer League in 1993. As the city Welkom is located 267 km from Johannesburg, the new owners only had interest to buy the clubs league license and professional players, while the junior teams and senior amateur teams were not a part of the deal.

In 2000, Highlands Park created a collaboration between themselves and Silver Stars. Silver Stars were renamed to "HP Silver Stars", while the Highlands Park junior team for a couple of years worked as the nursery team for the club.

In 2003, the club managed to create a second semi-professional Phoenix Club with the name Highlands Park FC. During the first four seasons, the reborn "Highlands Park FC" competed in the fourth tier of the South African football league, known as SAFA Regional League.

In 2007, the club was promoted to the Vodacom League. From there, the club has grown from strength to strength, becoming a dominant side within the South African soccer landscape.


Highlands Park FC is a 10 time winner of the NFL Cup. The winning streak started in 1960 and continued to 1977. Years won were 1960 – 1968, 1973, 1975 & 1977.

The club is also the proud winners of the NPSL in 1980 and the Vodacom league in 2011 and 2014.

For the 2014 season, Highlands Park FC was promoted to NFD and finished 11th for their first season.

iX Online Motoring